PhotoshopForums.com Home
Navigate Contact FAQ Search Members
Large graphic design resolution issue
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PhotoshopForums.com Forum Index -> Export, Output and Optimization
 See a User Guidelines violation? Please contact us.

MattWalkerNCL

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 1:05 am    Post subject: Large graphic design resolution issue Reply with quote

Hi everyone, new to forum so hope this is in the correct place!

I'm a videographer and have ended up doing some poster designs in Photoshop (CS6 - if that's of any relevance....) and have been charged with designing a simple but large billboard.

The size is to be approximately 8 feet high by 32 feet wide.

My problem is this - I'm not experienced with setting up projects for such a huge size and im concerned I will either lose quality by setting the wrong resolution or initial size (it not scaling up well) or simply not being able to save the file as a PDF as it is too large.

The printers I am using only accept hi-res PDF's.

I'm a complete noob with understanding resolution and how I can create a document that will meet 8' x 32' and not look like you've drank a bottle of rum!

Is anyone able to help me out on this?

I've been doing my A2 poster designs at 300dpi and at A2 size in document setup when i begin the project, if that indicates what a blind fool i am...

Cheers,

Matt

Rarity

PS Version: CS6

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eys,

With pinpointing DPI for a billboard it's quite hard. Seeing the size (like 2.5 x 10 metres if my Imperial to metric is correct) you could get away using 12 or 15 dps - personally I would still use 30-ish.

Thing is, it is quite dependent on what the viewing distance for people will be (round and about). A 2.5*10 billboard for example could still be watched at from the concert-poster distance for example.