PhotoshopForums.com Home
Navigate Contact FAQ Search Members
New / need help removing shadows
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PhotoshopForums.com Forum Index -> Photography
 See a User Guidelines violation? Please contact us.

kegleyphotography

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 8:31 pm    Post subject: New / need help removing shadows Reply with quote

Hey I am new to photoshop and I was trying to edit a pic for a friend that has a bad shadow I know there has to be an easy way I am sure to edit the shadow out but I just cant find anything. I went to help and it said to adjust the shadows but that did not help at all.... can some one please talk me through this edit I am using photoshop elements 9.0 thanks for any input!

hawkeye

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2010 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's impossible to give advice without seeing the picture.

Flemming

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are certain methods to erase a shadow in that picture:
- First open the photo in Photoshop.
- Select the entire shadow; use the lasso tool for the selection. Also include a small amount of area around the shadow. Copy and paste the selection to a new layer.
- You will have to have a new layer containing only the shadow. Go to "Image," "Adjustments" and "Brightness/Contrast."
- Adjust the color and the brightness according to the background color.
- Use the eraser and erase the extra area around the shadow.
- If your results are not perfect, try adjusting the hue and saturation under "Image," "Adjustments" and "Hue/Saturation."

jeffreywilson

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flemming wrote:
There are certain methods to erase a shadow in that picture:
- First open the photo in Photoshop.
- Select the entire shadow; use the lasso tool for the selection. Also include a small amount of area around the shadow. Copy and paste the selection to a new layer.