PhotoshopForums.com Home
Navigate Contact FAQ Search Members
photoshop/imageready and slices
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PhotoshopForums.com Forum Index -> General Photoshop and Design Discussion
 See a User Guidelines violation? Please contact us.

matelin

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2004 7:52 pm    Post subject: photoshop/imageready and slices Reply with quote

OK..I have all my images ready to go.."i think" now I want to go to image ready and slice them up and add html for my editor. HOW is the basic way to do this?? i am in a stump... I am redoing my site but i want to use photshop and image ready for my new site..yes i am just a newbie.
when i slice the image up, i want to preserve the place where i can edit my text in my html editor..how do I achieve this>? I still want the same interface or image BUT need to be able to edit the text in the editor as well. any advice?? Cry Confused

White Warlock

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't bother with ImageReady. I just park guides up all over the place (the locations where i want to slice the pic, and make sure i have it set to 'snap to guides.' I then make a 'save-as,' "tempfile" and then flatten the entire image.

Once that is done, I then choose the 'rectangular marquee tool' from the toolbox and, using the 'snap to guides' feature, click and drag across from one guide intersection to the next.

I follow up with a Ctrl-C (copy command), followed by a Ctrl-N (new file command), a Ctrl-P command (into the new file, which, conveniently enough, is exactly the same size as the section you copied off from your original piece), and i finish with a Ctrl-S of the new file* (name it whatever that particular piece is).

Rinse, repeat. You'll be done in a fraction of the time.