PhotoshopForums.com Home
Navigate Contact FAQ Search Members
Help! Photoshop elements 6 won't accept my RAW+JPG
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PhotoshopForums.com Forum Index -> Photography
 See a User Guidelines violation? Please contact us.

pictureme70

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:35 am    Post subject: Help! Photoshop elements 6 won't accept my RAW+JPG Reply with quote

Hello you experts, I need you desperately! Brow
I used my new camera properly for the first time last week while on holiday. The camera being Sony a200 SLR. I took most of my pictures using the 'Fine' (JPEG) quality setting, but I also used many with the RAW+JPEG setting because I read that it was ideal for obtaining the full quality of the original shot without compression etc. which I understood (perhaps wrongly) that it was more suited for editing, being a lossless format. I may not have these details correct as I am new to the format scene. I used the combination format because I thought the RAW would be good for the editing, but I had the JPG to fall back on if I did not understand the RAW well enough. Confused Unfortunately I have realised my mistake. I use Photoshop Elements 6 for my photo management. I imported all my photos (approx 400!) into my organiser only to find it did not accept, what I assume, to be the RAW+JPEG files. i received a list of the unimported files, all with the same message of damaged or unsupported file format (Ithink it said .arw, or something similar.
I imported the shots from my camera via Windows Photo Gallery (My computer is Vista Premium) to see if it would accept the files, but that only imported the same photos as Photoshop 6 Bawling
So, my question is, how can I get my RAW+JPEG photos in my camera into my organiser. Is there a way to convert them from my camera? Or have I lost the photos to my camera for all time? Eek
A solution to my problem would be really a life saver. My wife wants those photos man! Bawling
Many thanks,
pictureme

hawkeye