PhotoshopForums.com Home
Navigate Contact FAQ Search Members
Photoshop Memory Leaks
 See a User Guidelines violation? Please contact us.

jonathan1065

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 3:51 pm    Post subject: Photoshop Memory Leaks Reply with quote

Apologies for the length of this post, but I wanted to answer as many potential quesions in advance as possible.

I've been using CS3 for the past two years on Mac OS X 10.5 and 10.6. There is a huge problem with memory not being freed up as files are closed, and I'm wondering if this has been addressed in CS4 or if the problem still exists. Here's essentially what happens:

1)Start Photoshop.
2)Open between 25-50 files of roughly 15 MB each.
3)Check individual files for color issues.
4)Run Automate Batch on all files using my own action which resizes images smaller, automatically adjusts contrast, adds copyright text, saves for web, resizes smaller again to make thumbnail, saves for web again, then closes original without re-saving.
5)When last file closes, repeat with next batch.

The problem I have is that the action hangs on every file for several seconds at some point. This doesn't appear to be caused by Automate Batch or the action itself, since when I run the action on each file it still occurs, and if I perform each step manually it still happens. I've used Activity Monitor to follow what's happening and the machine shows little to no processor or disk activity when this pause occurs; it's as though Photoshop just stops for a breather before resuming. Processor use rarely rises above 30% during the whole action.