PhotoshopForums.com Home
Navigate Contact FAQ Search Members
Sharpen text of an old scanned magazine
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PhotoshopForums.com Forum Index -> Photography
 See a User Guidelines violation? Please contact us.

qshadow

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 2:28 pm    Post subject: Sharpen text of an old scanned magazine Reply with quote

Hi All,
I have a scan of an old SciFi magazine called Astounding,
however the scan is from microfilm and of a very low quality,
here is a link to a page example:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/11493886@N04/4313861409/

i wonder if it is possible to improve it's quality and make it readable.
sharpen the text, or something.
I am a newbie in photoshop, so I need your help.

Thanks!
your help will be much appreciated by big community of old pulps fans!

if you are interested here is the full issues in public domain (only some of them are of the bad quality):
http://www.archive.org/search.php?query=subject%3A%22Astounding%20Stories%22

pixel8or

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used Levels in Text1 and I used UnSharp Mask with the following settings in Text2, Amount -> 109 and Radius -> 20.

qshadow

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pixel8or wrote:
I used Levels in Text1 and I used UnSharp Mask with the following settings in Text2, Amount -> 109 and Radius -> 20.

Wow!
the difference is Astounding!
:)
Thanks pixel8or!

qshadow

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

By the way,
i have hundreds of pages that need this fix,
any idea how can i do it automatically?
maybe some batch command or utility?

Thanks,
Qshadow.

magkelly

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote