PhotoshopForums.com Home
Navigate Contact FAQ Search Members
Printing a true black & white photo
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PhotoshopForums.com Forum Index -> Export, Output and Optimization
 See a User Guidelines violation? Please contact us.

jmhultin

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:46 pm    Post subject: Printing a true black & white photo Reply with quote

I'm new to digital, after having dumped out all my darkroom chemicals, so please bear with me. I've scanned a number of my B&W negatives, I've manipulated them in PS elements 5.0, now I want to print them.

After spending a number of hours and bucks at Kinkos, I found that my $150 home inkjet does a better job.

The problem is, my B&W prints come out very "warm", almost sepia. (even the expensive laser printers at Kinkos came out warm). I like that sometimes, but not always. I've played with foreground colors as well as hues, mostly aiming towards blues, in the hopes of getting a "cooler" print.

In glancing at some of the posts here, I assume it has something to do with color management, but maybe somebody can clue me in.

Thanks.

wave of light

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are obviously way ahead of me in the 'photo' profession. However, what I can tell you is there is a image adjustment in PS call Black and White. Not only does it turn your image/layer to B&W in gives you control over the Red, Yellow, Greena, Cyans, Blues and Magentas. Also you have some clever presents that might help you get that perfect B&W print.

Let me know how it turns out.

Oh, shortcut is ALT+SHIFT+CTRL+B

jmhultin

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks - I appreciate your input. I may have a different version of PS, but the oly Black & White option I find is under Enhance, Convert to Black & white. There I do have options for more Blue, Green or Red, but those seem to refer to colors of my original "color" photo.