PhotoshopForums.com Home
Navigate Contact FAQ Search Members
How to automatically update Smart LINKED Object
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PhotoshopForums.com Forum Index -> Actions and Automation
 See a User Guidelines violation? Please contact us.

Elia

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 7:08 pm    Post subject: How to automatically update Smart LINKED Object Reply with quote

Hi.

This is my first post here, I'm French, so excuse any English mistake i may do.

I'm not an artist / designer / ..., still new about using image software editing like photoshop.

So i downloaded Photoshop CC to try it because i wanted to do something on my spare time.

I want to render digitaly a card collection based on a online Collectible Card Game (Duel of champions if you wanna know).

For this I downloaded their card art from their site.

Then i want to add several effect / filter to render them nicely.

So i read and watch many tutorial in this purpose.

I ended with a good result for 1 card.

Here is an example :

So what i did :
I get a source card art image, adding its red border, embossed it to get relief, adding a gloss effect in 3 different layers (the card art, the border and the gloss effect). Than i duplicate all this layers, swap them vertically and moved down to get a reflection.
I added a gradient to this new group of layers to have a nice fading effect to the reflection.

As I do not want to redo all the process again and again if I change main the source card Art, I want the reflexion to automatically update.

This was done using Smart object, both main source card Art and the (vertically swapped) reflexion card art using the same object storing my different main source card art.
So when i change in this object the main source card art used, it automatically change both the rendered card and its corresponding reflexion.

And then i Added a displacement filter to simulate a water reflection.

And the first problem (solved by now) occurred :