PhotoshopForums.com Home
Navigate Contact FAQ Search Members
Place a flower on a new, coloured background - How to?
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PhotoshopForums.com Forum Index -> Manipulation
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 See a User Guidelines violation? Please contact us.

WesternGuy

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:23 pm    Post subject: Place a flower on a new, coloured background - How to? Reply with quote

I am fairly new to Photoshop in that I haven't used it (CS6) very much in a couple of years. I am trying to remove all of the background stuff in a wildflower image and replace it with a solid coloured background, so that I end up with, for example, a blue flower on a soft red background.

I can select the flower, but at some stage in the selection process, the "selection" jumps from the flowers stem to the entire image and I don't know why. When I have been able to select that part of the flower that I want to keep, I get a bit lost in how to proceed. My understanding is that I need to create a new layer with the "background" colour that I want on it and then, somehow, merge this layer so that my flower layer is on top of the coloured one. It is this "overlaying" that I am finding hard to make work.

Any insight/assistance or reference to how to get this done will be greatly appreciated. TIA.

WesternGuy

SC Photo Designs

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would use the pen tool to make a selection around the flower, this will give you full control of what is being selected, and you can get really close to ensure a good "cut out", then make the selection, then copy and paste it into a new layer, create another new layer and place it underneath your layer with the selection in it, and colour it however you choose.
If you have any problems let me know :)

WesternGuy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I will give this a try and see how it works

WesternGuy

WesternGuy